Two incumbents being challenged


Two long-time serving Faribault County officials will have to convince voters they deserve to keep their jobs.

Filing for the District 4 commissioner’s race were incumbent Tom Loveall of rural Winnebago, Dana Gates of rural Winnebago and Dru Martin of rural Easton.

Loveall has served 20 years on the County Board, being first elected in 2003.

Gates isn’t new to local government politics, having served on the Winnebago City Council from 2006 to 2010.

Gates says, “I’m simply following my interest in government,” is one of the reasons he’s running for commissioner.

“I’m giving the people a choice in the next election,” says Gates. “As a business owner in the county, I’m very accessible, which I believe to be a strong asset.”

Gates worked as a loan officer for nine years at the bank in Winnebago prior to operating the Steel Wheel Bar on Main Street from 2014 to 2019. He currently owns Allenz Bar in Easton.

This is the second time Martin has run for the District 4 seat. In 2018, he lost to Loveall by nearly a 300-vote margin.

Because there are three candidates, they will square off in the Aug 9 primary election. The two top vote-getters will advance to the Nov. 8 general election.

District 4 includes the cities of Delavan, Easton and Winnebago and the townships of Barber, Delavan, Lura, Prescott and Winnebago.

In the other contested race, Sheriff Mike Gormley of rural Bricelyn will be seeking his fifth four-year term. He is being challenged by North Mankato police officer Jacob Kral of Blue Earth.

County offices that only had the incumbent filing were, District 2 incumbent Commissioner Greg Young; auditor-treasurer, Darren Esser; recorder, Sheryl Asmus; and county attorney, Cameron Davis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *